Author Interview with Matthew Grawitch

New on our Page to Page interview series is Matthew Grawitch! Here’s Matthew’s interview:

A Little on the Personal Side:

  • What do you love most about writing? What do you not like?  I love the ability to craft a story, where it is going, watching as the characters develop and seeing where the next chapter will take me. Creating a base of characters with different strengths and weaknesses and different personalities is a lot of the fun, but sometimes it makes me feel a bit like I have multiple personality disorder. What I dislike most is when I hit a mental roadblock, where I can’t figure out what’s going to happen next or the chapter doesn’t seem to be flowing freely.
  • Do you have a favorite place to write?  I love writing on my porch or sitting in my recliner. If I can get comfortable somewhere, I can write. It’s the getting comfortable part that is sometimes tricky because I’ve got to find a place where I can lose myself in my story.
  • Books and writing aside, what’s one of your favorite things about your life or yourself? I have such a fulfilling life with my girls, my job, and my significant other. Lots of people are lucky if they have one or two things in their life that fulfill them or give their life meaning, but I’m lucky to have more meaningful things in my life than I probably deserve.

A Little on the Professional Side:

  • Where do you draw your inspiration from?  A lot of my characters are drawn from life. Heroes, villains, physical descriptions, personalities – what I’ve seen and experienced makes for all the fodder I need. And most inspirational are my girls. They were the impetus for my first book, which came out of a series of bedtime stories I used to tell them.
  • Of all of the characters you have written, which has been your favorite? Why? Least favorite? Why?  I’m actually very partial to Balthazar in the Three Wizards Chronicles. His constant tension between good and evil, light and dark, connects with me. As the series unfolds (there are currently five books in draft format, not to mention the one that was published), he takes on more and more of an interesting role.
  • What is your thought on eBooks being the new way to read?  I’m not an eBook person myself. I much prefer the physical book. But I think eBooks provide just another venue to reach people who maybe aren’t as interested in the physical book. If nothing else, it expands the audience for a particular story.

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

Good Guys or Bad Guys? – Good Guys

Fiction or Non-Fiction? – Fiction

Handwritten or PC typed? – PC typed

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? – Cozy Nook

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? – I think both have their place, depends on what the reader needs at the time.

Writing or Reading? – Writing

*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake? – Cheesecake

Chocolate or Vanilla? – Chocolate

Coffee or Tea? – Soda

Dress Up or Dress Down? – Depends on the situation

Barefoot or Shoes? – Barefoot

Cook or Order Out? – Order Out

Online Presence:

Website: http://three-wizards.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Three-Wizards-Chronicles/615319125169665 and https://www.facebook.com/MattGrawitchAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Three_Wizards

Additional links: Three Wizards Blog: http://three-wizards.blogspot.com/

Book titles and their corresponding sell links:

1. Rise of the Dead Magic (paperback)

2. Rise of the Dead Magic (eBook):

Matts cover Final 3

3 responses to “Author Interview with Matthew Grawitch

Leave a Reply

