Author Interview with B.T. Clifford

Next on Page to Page Promo’s Interview Series is B.T. Clifford! Here’s B.T.’S interview:

btclifford

A Little on the Personal Side:

If you weren’t an author, what would you be?
I’m assuming this is something other than what I do to pay the bills while I write. I manage a community college science lab and if I were to select a career other than writing, it would be teaching. The college is an excellent environment to work in and being a professor looks like it would be a rewarding job.


What types of books do you read?
I read a lot of nonfiction history; military, exploration, survival, they all intrigue me. My taste in fiction leans heavily toward classic literature, though I have a few favorite contemporary authors. We lost two of them very recently, Michael Crichton and Tom Clancy. Other significant favorites are William Golding and Alistair Maclean. I think it was Alistair who really made me appreciate good pacing in a novel.

 
When you are not writing where can you be found? If I’m not in my lab, I’m on a ball field. My youngest son plays baseball. He’s on a travel team and plays Little League so there are games or practices almost every night of the week. I love ball, but not as much as he does, and that’s as it should be I think. Here in the southwest, the baseball season starts in September and runs through May, sometimes even into June, and during those months my house revolves around baseball.


A Little on the Professional Side:

 
Of all of the characters you have written, which has been your favorite? Why? Least favorite? Why? My favorite character to write has been John, from Oliver Stanton and The Josephine Key. In the first drafts of the novel, John is just a teenage kid who loves the desert, but as the book matured, I realized the character needed more. I rewrote him, drawing on my experience raising my oldest son who has autism. Many of the things John does in the book, my son did as we would hike in the desert looking for Indian ruins or rocks. John’s behavioral quirks are very much my son’s.

 

My least favorite is Snake. I have difficulty writing villains and he is no exception. Writing a bad guy is like walking a tightrope, lean too far to the evil and you’re turning off readers, go the other way and the character is weak and not believable. Writing for a young market means you also have to take particular care in how you describe the character’s evil doings.

 
Has there been a character that has “written itself”? Who? The character of Manny developed that way. Manny is my responsible side. He’s game for just about anything but proceeds with caution and eyes open. He looks at the bigger picture and potential outcomes more than does his reckless partner, Hank. He’s very protective, but knows he has to let the kids experience life, so he’s there to pull everyone out of the fire if it gets too hot.

 
Who is your ideal reader? I wrote this book for boys who are beginning to read longer, more technically written books. An important aspect of that development, I feel, is having parents read to their kids. This is a book that Dad can sit down and read to his boy or girl and not fall asleep doing it. Young kids can pick it up and find an adventure in the desert, but unlike some impossible fantasy, they could actually see and do many of the things that happen in the book.

 
A Little Quick Fire:


*When it comes to books*

Good Guys or Bad Guys?  Good Guys

Fiction or Non-Fiction?  Fiction

Handwritten or PC typed?  PC typed

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis?   Definitely outdoors

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter?   Nail-biter

Writing or Reading?   Writing


*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake?  Can’t I have both? Ice Cream

Chocolate or Vanilla?   Chocolate

Coffee or Tea?   Tea

Dress Up or Dress Down?   Down. Formal wear around here is a tee-shirt without print.

Barefoot or Shoes?   Barefoot as much as possible.

Cook or Order Out?   Order Out. I hate cooking.
Online Presence:

Website:  http://www.btclifford.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BTCliffordbooks

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/BTClifford

Additional links:  https://www.amazon.com/author/btclifford

 

Book TItle and Sell LInk:

 Stanton and The Josephine Key

OSTJK e-cover

 

 

2 responses to “Author Interview with B.T. Clifford

Leave a Reply

