Author Interview with E. Lynn Hooghiemstra

Today’s Page to Page interview is with E.  Lynn Hooghiemstra. Welcome E. Lynn!

A Little on the Personal Side:

  • If you weren’t an author, what would you be? I wouldn’t be.
  • What is your all-time favorite book?  There isn’t just one, but a few stand-outs are: Kim by Rudyard Kipling, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis, Of Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham, The Void Trilogy by Peter F. Hamilton.
  •   What types of books do you read? I read a wide variety of books ranging from historical fiction, to mysteries all the way out to science fiction and a little about quantum physics. I’m a very curious person and enjoy a well-written book regardless of genre, though I won’t read horror or true crime; I just don’t have the stomach for it.
  •   Books and writing aside, what’s one of your favorite things about your life or yourself? The beautifully agonizing joy of raising my son and being able to see the world through his eyes as he grows up . I feel I’m given a chance to learn again as a child and see things I might otherwise have missed. Especially since he’s growing up in a culture different from the one I grew up in.

A Little on the Professional Side:

  • Where do you draw your inspiration from?  I draw inspiration from family stories, friends and random bits of information that come my way and stick in my mind. Often a single line in a magazine or newspaper can send me off on one of those stream of consciousness explorations of ‘what if …’ Stay tuned as I work my way through the notebooks of ideas.
  •  In what ways do you relate to the characters in your latest book? The characters in my latest book Tales from the Fountain Pen are quite personal. The heroine, Maggie, is loosely based on my mother who experienced WWII in her village in the north of the Netherlands, but she told me very little of it. The stories are built up around just tiny fragments of truth. Empathy and creativity and research built the rest.

In some ways I was truly able to know my mother better and understand how her experiences shaped her and made her into the woman I knew.

  • What did it feel like to sell your first book? Do you remember where you were when you found out you had sold a book?  I was at my desk when the email came in from my publisher Untreed Reads. It was the most wonderful endorphin rush to read those words and know that the blood, sweat and tears had paid off. Each successive sale continues to give me that rush, probably because writing is such a deeply personal craft.

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

Good Guys or Bad Guys?      Flawed Good Guys

Fiction or Non-Fiction?         Fiction

Handwritten or PC typed?   Handwritten

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? Cozy Nook

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? Nail-biter

Writing or Reading?              Writing

*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake?    Cake

Chocolate or Vanilla?            Chocolate

Coffee or Tea?  Tea, unless I’m extremely tired.

Dress Up or Dress Down? Dress Down

Barefoot or Shoes?  Sock feet

Cook or Order Out? Cook

Online Presence:

Website: http://elynnh.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/elynn.hooghiemstra

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6426879.E_Lynn_Hooghiemstra

Book title and corresponding sell link:

Tales from the Fountain Pen

-1

2 responses to “Author Interview with E. Lynn Hooghiemstra

Leave a Reply

