Author Interview with Kathryn White

Today we have Kathryn White on our Page to Page Author Interview. Welcome Kathryn!

IMG_0468_2

A Little on the Personal Side:

• If you weren’t an author, what would you be? I would be an actor or a stand up comedian. Umm, actually, I tried that and sort of failed and didn’t keep trying, whereas I’ve continued to write despite numerous failures, so I guess I’m a better or more motivated writer than what I am an actor.

• Do you have a favorite place to write? You can usually find me in a quiet and cozy part of the house with my MacBook Pro on my lap. I love winter times, when I’ve got a good excuse to cuddle up beside the fireplace with my MacBook and a cup of coffee or hot chocolate.

Books and writing aside, what’s one of your favorite things about your life or yourself? Ooh, there are a few contenders here. I feel very blessed, I have a full and happy life, a wonderful family and friends. (None of whom are anything like any of the crazy people in my books. Well, okay, most of them.)

A Little on the Professional Side:

Where do you draw your inspiration from? Just from the world around me. I’ll see something or overhear something and then I start wondering, What if this happened next, or What if these two people met …

• Of all of the characters you have written, which has been your favorite? Why? Least

favorite? Why? My favourite character is a tie between Abigail Carter from Being Abigail—who is probably the character who I identify with the most and has certainly been a part of my writing career for a long time—and Kimberley “Kimmy” Ryan from my latest novel Behind the Scenes. Kimmy is an interesting character and a lot of fun to write, as she is beautiful, spoiled and bratty, but when it comes to the crunch she’s one of the good ones. Past hurts and lessons learned mean that loyalty means everything to her. Abigail is just … lovably eccentric and not afraid to voice the things that others feel are best left unsaid.

It is difficult to choose a least favourite character, as I would like to think that I had a place in my heart for all of them, but I’m not going to lie, Rita, the twins mother in Best Forgotten really got on my nerves. That woman is a classic example of pure selfishness. And she really has no clue how her actions hurt other people. So I’m picking Rita.

Has there been a character that has “written itself”? Who? Abigail Carter the lead character from my novel Being Abigail definitely writes herself. As an author, Abigail is probably one of my proudest achievements, a character that is as well-rounded as she is eccentric. Abigail gets into some truly crazy situations, most of them caused by either misadventure or misunderstanding. People might be surprised to learn that when I wrote Abigail’s suicide note that kicks the novel off, I actually had no idea where the book was going to go from there. I just knew that she was a very special character who was getting very fed up with her life. From there, the characters and situations just sort of played on themselves and probably would never have gotten very far, had I not been stuck at a dinner party one night, opposite a woman who was desperate to out-do absolutely everyone else who was sitting near her. She began the inspiration behind Chastity MacKenzie, Abigail’s great enemy. It was fun to play both of the characters off one another.

 

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

Good Guys or Bad Guys? When I’m reading, I always go for the Good Guys. When I’m writing, I try to share my love and creativity between the hero and the villain.

Fiction or Non-Fiction? Fiction. I love escaping into another world.

Handwritten or PC typed? MacBook typed. If you ever see my handwriting, you’ll understand …

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? Cozy Nook.

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? Can I have both?

Writing or Reading? It’s a photo finish but … Writing!

 

*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake? Cake. I hate ice-cream.

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate.

Coffee or Tea? Coffee.

Dress Up or Dress Down? Dress Up.

Barefoot or Shoes? Shoes.

Cook or Order Out? Order Out.

 

Online Presence:

Website: http://kathrynwhiteauthor.blogspot.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kathrynwhiteauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KathrynsInbox

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5208758.Kathryn_White

 

Book titles and their corresponding sell links:

1 Behind the Scenes

2 Best Forgotten

3 Being Abigail

bts

 

One response to “Author Interview with Kathryn White

Leave a Reply

