Author Interview with Gay Ingram

Here is our author interview with Gay Ingram! Welcome to Page to Page Promo Gay!

A Little on the Personal Side:

  • If you weren’t an author, what would you be?  Authoring came to me late in life and by way of a different passion – herbs. Creating informational booklets about herbs are what jump-started my writing. A creative writing course offered by a local college opened up the world of writing fiction for me.

 

  • What is your all-time favorite book?  I would have to say The Good Earth written by Pearl Buck and read when still a schoolchild. I grew up in a small village and this book opened my eyes to other worlds and cultures I would only know and visit by means of books.
  • What three things do you think your readers would be surprised to know about you?  Three things? I hate shopping for myself. I’ve lived in Texas for over fifty years but will always be a Conn. Yankee in my heart. Donuts are my most favorite dessert but it’s been years since I’ve allowed myself one – all those calories, you know.
  • What types of books do you read?  I’m an eclectic reader. I especially appreciate a good story set in a time period that remains authentic to its historical setting.
  • What do you love most about writing? What do you not like? I get a rush when the characters begin to interact with each other in my mind and I have to scramble to capture the scenes.
  • When you are not writing where can you be found? Weather permitting; I still enjoy gardening although the encroaching years have really limited my efforts.
  • Do you have a favorite place to write? I usually begin a project writing by hand in a spiral notebook; then as the flow comes, I turn my chair to the computer behind me…and away I go.
  • Books and writing aside, what’s one of your favorite things about your life or yourself? I’m most grateful for my husband who has always been my most vigorous encourager. He enabled and encouraged me in whatever I decided to attempt through the years.

A Little on the Professional Side:

  • Where do you draw your inspiration from?  People. Every person has a story to tell. I’m thrilled when I can capture the essence of how someone has been changed by the experiences of their life.
  • In what ways do you relate to the characters in your latest book? It is necessary for me to become quite familiar with my characters as I write their story. They become familiar acquaintances and remain vivid on every occasional recollection.
  • Of all of the characters you have written, which has been your favorite? Why? Least favorite? Why? So hard to choose. Perhaps Audelia Simmons/Badwell from Twist of Fate. She remained such a strong person in spite of the drastic events she experienced.
  • Has there been a character that has “written itself”? Who? I consider myself fortunate in that my stories usually begin with a character revealing her/himself to me and telling me their story. All I have to do is capture it with words written down.
  • How do you connect with your readers? (book clubs, online chats, etc) I’ve tried to stay current, making use of social media such as Facebook, Twitter and GoodReads. In the past, I did public speaking and book signings and will continue to do so but not as frequently. I find face-to-face an excellent avenue for getting to know your readers.
  • What is your thought on eBooks being the new way to read? I’m an advocate of Ebooks; have several available through that venue. However, I am dismayed by those books published in this manner that really aren’t ready for publication. But it’s a very exciting development that has given authors means to reach the reading public.
  • Who is your ideal reader? Now that’s an interesting question. Of course, my logical answer is someone who has bought and read everything I’ve ever written and gushes to everyone about the excellence of my work.
  • What did it feel like to sell your first book? Do you remember where you were when you found out you had sold a book? My first novel was ‘Til Death Do Us Part – still consider it a great read. It was a joy to hold that first book in my hands. But I have to admit, I gained the same pleasure when someone bought those first booklets about herbs.

A Little Quick Fire:

 

*When it comes to books*

 

Good Guys or Bad Guys? I’m not much into thrillers, horrors or such type books. I like to see the little guy come out a winner.

Fiction or Non-Fiction? I enjoy a well-developed fiction story and also enjoy reading non-fiction for the sake of learning more about people, cultures and this world I inhabit.

Handwritten or PC typed?More and more I find myself sitting at the computer to compose. I still use hand-writing to gather thoughts and organize preparation of the story.

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? I’m blessed to have a little cabin that’s devoted to my writing and crafting activities. I also appreciate the laptop in the house for when weather is too nasty to allow me to traverse the distance to my cabin which is about fifty feet from my back door.

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? Oh I do love a Nail-biter but much appreciate when the story ends up a Happily Ever After.

Writing or Reading?

Now that is too difficult a choice to make.

*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake? I do have a sweet tooth and always seem to need a cookie to end my meal. But a bedtime snack of ice cream is sometime an added treat.

Chocolate or Vanilla? Need it be said? Chocolate comes in first every time.

Coffee or Tea? Oh, coffee all day long. I think that’s what keeps me a Yankee, so my friends tell me.

Dress Up or Dress Down? Dress down – I live a very casual, country lifestyle. My occasions to dress up come rarely.

Barefoot or Shoes? Barefoot as much as the weather will allow but I’ve been known to make a quick trip outside shoe-less even in winter at times.

Cook or Order Out? Sigh! I’m stuck cooking except for rare trips to town for dinner out. We live too distant for deliveries of Order Outs

Online Presence:

Website: http://pineywoodsbooks.webs.com/home.htm  & http://gayingram.webs.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gay.ingram

Twitter: @IngramGay

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Additional links: http://gayingram.blogspot.com/ & http://venturegalleries.com/author/gayingram/

Book titles and their corresponding sell links:

Second Time Around

Twist Of Fate

‘Til Death Do Us Part

morganasrevenge

One response to “Author Interview with Gay Ingram

Leave a Reply

