Author Interview with Rayne Golay + Giveaway

Today we welcome to Page to Page Promo Author Interview Series Rayne Golay. Thanks for stopping by.

MY PHOTO

A Little on the Personal Side:

  • If you weren’t an author, what would you be?

It’s funny, but some of the time I don’t consider myself an author. I have to remind myself that, yes indeed, I’m an author. For most of my life I wanted to write, but it was not to be until I took early retirement from my job as a psychotherapist. Now I have the freedom and the time to write. Am I an author? I guess I am, at least by Richard Bach’s definition; an author is a writer who didn’t give up.

 

  • What is your all-time favorite book?

Oh my, there are so many books I love. Of those I read and reread I’d like to mention two: Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca because of the wonderful portrayal of characters; Mrs. de Winter’s struggle to compete with the memory of her predecessor. It’s fascinating that  Mrs. de Winter is never mentioned by her first name. The other intriguing character is the sinister housekeeper Mrs. Danvers.

Another of my all time favorites is Mothers and Daughters by Evan Hunter, the master of dialogue. A wonderful portrayal of friendship, rivalry, deception.

 

  • When you are not writing where can you be found?

Anywhere in the world. I love traveling, discovering new cultures and peoples. I’m at my happiest when I have a trip in sight.

 

A Little on the Professional Side:

 

  • Of all of the characters you have written, which has been your favorite? Why? Least favorite? Why?

My most favorite character is without hesitation Leini in THE WOODEN CHAIR. While writing the book, she settled in my heart and my mind. She made herself at home and guided me through the entire process of writing the book. Leini has spunk, charisma, is battling against handicap, neglect and an unloving mother. Despite disappointments, hardship, facing the knowledge that her mother didn’t want her, she raises every morning to face yet another day of difficulties because of her visual impairment.

The least favorite character is in my work in progress, the male protagonist. Since I’m still editing the book, couldn’t I make him more likeable? For the sake of the plot he has to be as written.

 

  • How do you connect with your readers? (book clubs, online chats, etc)

Any which way I can connect with them. Social media is a way, but most of all I like the person to person contact, like book signings.

 

  • What is your thought on eBooks being the new way to read?

For the longest time, I fought the idea of an e-reader. I love print books, the feel, the smell, the weight of a book in my hands. My husband gifted me my first e-reader, and it was love at first sight. Reading is less strenuous on the eyes because of the narrower lines. Apart from e-books being less expensive than print books, the best part is I can carry my entire library with me.

 

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

 

Good Guys or Bad Guys? Good guys, but also not so bad guys.

Fiction or Non-Fiction? I’m very eclectic so I like both

Handwritten or PC typed? PC typed

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? I don’t really care as long as I can read. At night in bed is great.

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? Nail-biter

Writing or Reading? They’re interchangeable

 

*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake? You won’t believe this: cheese, real Swiss or French cheese. I don’t really like sweets.

Chocolate or Vanilla? Again, cheese.

Coffee or Tea? Both, but decaf

Dress Up or Dress Down? Depends on the occasion. Dressing up is fun.

Barefoot or Shoes? Shoes, shoes, shoes!

Cook or Order Out? How about a restaurant?

 

Online Presence:

Website: My website

Facebook: Facebook

Twitter:  Twitter

Goodreads: Goodreads

Additional links:  My blog

Reviews

 

1 LIFE IS A FOREIGN LANGUAGE

2 THE WOODEN CHAIR

LEINI

We have a mobi version of The Wooden Chair available! This giveaway will run for a week! Enter here: http://bit.ly/1fBgrMt

3 responses to “Author Interview with Rayne Golay + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

