Author Interview with A. Katie Rose

Today on our Author Interview Series we welcome A. Katie Rose! Thanks for stopping!

538746_120348698097764_611025821_n[2]

A Little on the Personal Side:

  • What do you love most about writing? What do you not like? I love putting plots together. I love creating characters, developing their personalities, what they love, what they hate, why they are who they are. I basically love everything to do with fiction writing: from subplots to plot twists. I especially adore foreshadowing! Putting inside a quote, or a scene, a tiny tidbit my reader may not truly notice until later – then that ‘aha!’ moment. What I hate about writing? Not being able to devote myself to writing. I still have a full time job, have mouths to feed and clean up after, and duties a writer must have to BE a writer. Right now, my time to write is very slim. But one day soon that’ll change
  • Do you have a favorite place to write? Yes. My desk. It’s a huge affair, made of oak and dark brown (my favorite wood shade), and almost encompasses me as I sit at it. It just about fills up my office! But when I sit down to it, I feel at home. Comfortable. When I received my iPad as a five year loyal employee gift last February, I would sit on my porch in the evenings and write. Words didn’t flow. I knew something wasn’t right with my writing, but shrugged it off. When I reread what I wrote on the iPad at my desk, the changes flowed from my fingers. Weird, eh?
  • Books and writing aside, what’s one of your favorite things about your life or yourself? That would have to be my boys. Outside of my passion for writing, I have a passion for my horses. They’re the children I never had. My old farts (as I call them: they’re 33 and 31 right now) have been with me for 26 and 24 years, respectively. Tanner and Boss. Cousins by blood, they came to me from the same Arabian breeder two years apart. My middle kid is my true child: Blackjack, (an Arab/Friesian cross) is my third generation, I was there when he was born and imprinted him when he was two hours old. We’re bonded worse than any old couple married for 60 years! We’ve had our issues, but we’re working through them and, believe it or not, still love each other. My fourth boy is new to my family: Alamar. An Arabian gelding that needed a new home. I bought him last January and we’re still learning about each other. As we bonded so quickly, I know we’re meant to be together.

A Little on the Professional Side:

 

  • Where do you draw your inspiration from? I’m not sure if this is what you mean, but I’ll try to explain how ideas come to me. I think creatively best when I’m active. Going for a walk, for instance. If I’m stuck over a plot problem or where to go with it next, I go for a walk. My current job is physically active, but doesn’t require much brain processing. Thus, my mind is usually free to think over what I wrote the night before, what to do next, what do I want to have happen next, how will it work out. I can plot out the next scene during the day, then write it that evening.
  • In what ways do you relate to the characters in your latest book? They make mistakes. These guys are quite human in their loves and hates and ambitions. I have two anti-heroes working against one another in “The Unforgiven” and both have done things they regret. Haven’t we all? We’re all human. While I haven’t shot an innocent man off his horse with an arrow, I have done things I wished I hadn’t. While one acted out of ego, the other because of the suffering he endures at the hands of his father. No excuse for either one, but which among us doesn’t need to be forgiven?
  • Has there been a character that has “written itself”? Who? Yes. On my current project, “The Unforgiven”, one of two anti-heroes has been surprising me every time I turn around. I think he’s going one way, then suddenly he’s shifting and doing something I hadn’t planned on. He’s a crafty devil, and quite the challenge. As I like him, despite his tendency to kill people in cold blood. I hate it when folk kill one another in cold blood. And I like this bugger – so I’m thinking my readers will, too.

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

Good Guys or Bad Guys? Good

Fiction or Non-Fiction? Fiction

Handwritten or PC typed? PC (handwriting cramps my hand)

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? Cozy nook

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? Nails – definitely

Writing or Reading? Writing

*When it comes to you*

 

Ice Cream or Cake? Cake!

Chocolate or Vanilla? Vanilla

Coffee or Tea? Neither – I’m a diet coke fiend

Dress Up or Dress Down? Down – good clothes don’t wear well on a trail ride

Barefoot or Shoes? Boots – toes crunch easily under horse hooves

Cook or Order Out? Um – don’t do much of either. Throw something together and eat while writing

Online Presence:

Website: http://www.akatierose.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AKatieRose?ref=hl

Twitter: Katie Rose@akatierose

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1444598.A_Katie_Rose

Additional links: www.akatierose.me (my blog)

Book titles and their corresponding sell links:

1. In A Wolf’s Eyes

2 Catch A Wolf

1044841_325745210891444_1584064285_n[1] Jacket11[1]

Leave a Reply

