Author Interview with Warren Bull

Today on Page to Page Promo Author Interview Series we have Warren Bull. Thanks for stopping by!

portrait

A Little on the Personal Side:
If you weren’t an author, what would you be? I was a clinical psychologist for about thirty years. It was challenging and worthwhile. If I were not an author I would be a retired guy looking for something to do.

What is your all-time favorite book? Actually, this is an easy question for me. My all-time favorite book is the book I helped my father write about his life. Toward the end of his life he decided he wanted to leave a record for his family for generations to come about what he had done and learned. Because I am a writer, my father asked if I would help him write about his life, including his experiences as a combat
infantryman during World War II. During the process I learned a great deal about my father that I had not known. My father died in January of this year. I am very glad he asked me to help him.

What do you love most about writing? What do you not like? There are times when writing is magical.
Sometimes the characters whisper in my ear, telling me intimate secrets they want me to share with the world. Plots twist back on themselves taking me by surprise. The muse snuggles up in my lap and iggles. Hours of time disappear. At other times when the words do not come, writing is achingly difficult. I plug away and wonder why I chose write in the first place.

A Little on the Professional Side:

Where do you draw your inspiration from? This is probably is question most often asked by readers. Inspiration comes from eavesdropping in restaurants and plane flights, events in my past, newspaper articles and conversations. Because I am a writer when I meet peopleI sometimes know immediately there is something interesting about the person, which will eventually show up in my writing.

Has there ever been a character that has “written itself”? Who? I haven’t yet had a character write
itself. Luckily, none of them can type. I have had characters who have a distinctive “voice.” In my
short story “A Lady of Quality” the main character had a definite, unmistakable way of expressing herself and describing what went on around her. Although it took me about three years to write the story, she was persistent and patient. Even while I was trying to figure out how to tell her story, I knew I would eventually get it right because her voice stayed with me.

What are your thoughts on eBooks being the new way to read? I think it’s great. I am in favor of anything that encourages reading. I have a Kindle, which is great for plane flights and other situations where size and weight are limiting factors. I believe there will always be paper and ink books. For me, the scent and feel of a physical book are a wonderful part of reading.

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

Good guys or BAD GUYS
FICTION or Non-Fiction
Handwritten or PC TYPED
COSY NOOK or Outdoors Oasis
Happily Ever After or NAIL-BITER
WRITING or Reading

*When it comes to you*

ICE CREAM or Cake
CHOCOLATE or Vanilla
Coffee or TEA
Dress up or DRESS DOWN
BAREFOOT or Shoes
Cook or ORDER OUT


Online Presence:
Website: www.WarrenBull.com(http://www.WarrenBull.com)
Facebook: Warren Bull
Goodreads: Warren Bull
Linked-in: Warren Bull

HEARTLAND http://www.avignonpress.com

Book titles and their corresponding sell links:

KILLER EULOGY AND OTHER STORIES
MURDER MANHATTAN STYLE

Murder_Manhattan_home 51PaaPkFYUL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12, -18_SH30_OU01_AA160_heartland_home

Leave a Reply

