Author Interview with Bryce Westervelt

Welcome to the Page to Page promo Interview series Bryce!

bryce

A Little on the Personal Side:

 

  • If you weren’t an author, what would you be?    I am a professional classical singer.  I might be more active with my singing, but that’s definitely one of my passions.   I think this is why I write – I look at my kids books as way to communicate with an audience, just in a different medium (text and pictures rather than notes and lyrics).

 

  • What types of books do you read?  Surprisingly, I read a lot of business books, especially those geared towards creatives, small business owners, and people who think outside the box.

 

  • When you are not writing where can you be found?  In front of the television watching sports. I’m a big sports fan – especially baseball and college football and basketball. I actively root for the Tampa Bay Rays (even though I’m now living in New York) and both of my Alma mater’s teams – Georgia football and Maryland basketball.

 

A Little on the Professional Side:

 

  • Where do you draw your inspiration from?   I think this is a fun story.  The idea of Pomodoro Penguin came from a pair of kitchen timers on my desk – one a penguin, the other a tomato.   The idea was to create a fun, unique, but identifiable character and his friends that both kids would love and parent actually wanted to share with their children.   I’ve tried to make the illustrations clean and bright and the rhyme crisp and snappy.   I love the little world that I’m creating.

 

  • What is your thought on eBooks being the new way to read?  I think they are wonderful, and as a “new” writer, they were a wonderful way for me to test out my books.   I launched all of my books on KDP select.  Starting this fall, I will start distributing to a few other digital market places including Apple.  That being said, since I write children’s books, getting them into print is really important.   So, here I am 9 months after putting the first book out in the Pomodoro Penguin series testing the waters to see if there really is demand for the print versions.  That’s why I turned to Kickstarter to crowd-fund/ presell the first printing of my books.  Shameless plug:  All-or-nothing pledge period ends on November 20th at 8 PM ET:  http://kck.st/1eESJfr

 

  • Who is your ideal reader?  I get this a lot.   The first book, Pomodoro Penguin Makes a Friend, gears young (Pre-K, K).  The books, as I have heard from several parents that have tried them with their kids work well both being read to younger kids (4/5) and as early readers as they transition to chapter books (1st and 2nd graders).   I have also heard that there are some penguin facts in Penguins, Penguins All Around that even parents won’t already know.

 

 

A Little Quick Fire:

*When it comes to books*

Good Guys or Bad Guys?  Good guys.

Fiction or Non-Fiction? Fiction and non-fiction hybrids

Handwritten or PC typed? Handwritten then typed

Cozy Nook or Outdoors Oasis? Kitchen table

Happily Ever After or Nail-biter? Always a happy ending

Writing or Reading? Writing and Illustrating

 

*When it comes to you*

Ice Cream or Cake? both

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate all day and twice on Tuesday

Coffee or Tea? coffee

Dress Up or Dress Down? down

Barefoot or Shoes? barefoot

Cook or Order Out? cook

 

Online Presence:

Website:  http://www.pomodoropenguin.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pomodoropenguin

Twitter: @brycetenor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/brycewestervelt

Additional links:  Kickstarter project to get Pomodoro Penguin into print: http://kck.st/1eESJfr

Pomodoro Penguin goes to 4 by 3

Writer page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/brycewriter

 

Book titles and their corresponding sell links:

1   Pomodoro Penguin Makes a Friend

2   Pomodoro Penguin Visits Italy

3   Pomodoro Penguin: Penguins, Penguins All Around

Book 4 cover no comma jpg

One response to “Author Interview with Bryce Westervelt

Leave a Reply

